Awami League candidate wins Chittagong-10 election Chittagong-10 Polls
File photo

Awami League candidate wins Chittagong-10 election

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 31 Jul 2023, 02:59 pm

Dhaka, July 31: Awami League's boat symbol candidate Mohiuddin Bachchu has been elected privately in the Chittagong-10 by-election. He got 52,923 votes.

Returning Officer and Chittagong Regional Election Officer Md. Hasanuzzaman announced the results from the election commission's temporary election results collection and information center set up in the gymnasium auditorium adjacent to MA Aziz Stadium in the city on Sunday evening. Out of 4 lakh 88 thousand 633 voters, a total of 57,153 votes cast their votes in the election.

In the announced results, Mohiuddin Bachchu, the candidate of the boat symbol, got 52,923 votes in 156 polling stations. Jatiya Party's plow symbol candidate Md. Samsul Alam got 1,572 votes. Trinamool BNP's Deepak Kumar got 1,230 votes in golden scale symbol, Rashid Mia of Bangladesh Cultural Liberation Alliance got 579 votes in stick symbol, independent candidate Md. Arman Ali got 480 votes in balloon symbol, Manjurul Islam Bhuiyan got 369 votes in rocket symbol.

Returning Officer Md. Hasanuzzaman said that polling was held in a peaceful environment. Monitoring is done with CCTV in every center and booth. No untoward incident occurred during the entire polling process. In the election, the candidate of the boat symbol, Md. Mohiuddin Bachchu, was elected privately.