Awami League's 14, BNP's 9 councillors win in NCC polls NCC Polls
File photo Representational image

Awami League's 14, BNP's 9 councillors win in NCC polls

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 18 Jan 2022, 02:46 pm

Own Correspondent, Dhaka, January 18: In the Narayanganj City Corporation (NCC) election, 14 Awami League-supported candidates and nine BNP leader-supporters have won the posts of general councillors in 27 wards. Besides, two candidates from Jatiya Party, one from BASAD and one independent candidate have been elected unofficially.

Winning councillors are: Awami League backed Anwar Hossain in Ward No. 1, incumbent BNP councillor Md. Iqbal Hossain in Ward No. 2 and incumbent councillor Shahjalal Badal in Ward No. 3. Shahjalal Badal is the nephew of Nur Hossain, who was convicted in seven murder cases.

Besides, Nur Hossain's brother Nur Uddin of Awami League has been re-elected as a councilor in ward no. 4. Golam Muhammad Sadril, son of GM Gias Uddin, the current councilor of ward no. 5 and former BNP MP, and Matiur Rahman, the current councilor of Awami League, have been elected in ward no. 6. Mizanur Rahman of Awami League in ward no. 7, Ruhul Amin Mollah of Awami League in ward no. 8, and Israfil Pradhan, who joined Awami League from BNP, has been elected as the councilor in ward no. 9. Iftekhar Alam of Awami League have been elected in ward 10, Ahidul Islam, a supporter of BNP, in ward 11, BNP's Shawkat Hashem in ward 12 and Maksudul Alam Khandaker, the current councillor of BNP in ward 13. Maksudul is the younger brother of independent candidate Taimur Alam.

Moniruzzaman of Awami League won in Ward No. 14, Asit Baran Biswas, the incumbent councilor in Ward No. 15, and Riyad Hasan of Awami League won in Ward No. 16. Incumbent Awami League councilor Md. Abdul Karim in ward no. 17, Labor League leader Kamrul Hasan in ward no. 18, Japar Mokhlesur Rahman Chowdhury in ward no. 19, BNP's Mohammad Shahenshah in Ward No. 20, Independent candidate Shahin Mia in Ward No. 21, Sultan Ahmed of BNP in Ward No. 22 and Abul Kausar, Organizing Secretary of Mahanagar BNP in Ward No. 23 were the winners. Abul Kausar is the son of Narayanganj Metropolitan BNP president and former MP Abul Kalam.

Current councillor Japar Afzal Hossain has been elected in ward no. 24, BNP's Enayet Hossain in ward no. 25, incumbent councilor of BNP Md. Samsuzzoha in ward no. 26 and Sirajul Islam of Awami League has won in ward no. 27.