CEC will wait for other political parties to take part in elections Elections
Collected CEC Kazi Habibul Awal

CEC will wait for other political parties to take part in elections

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 05 Nov 2023, 02:04 am

Own correspondent, Dhaka, 5 November 2023: Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal will wait for the parties who did not respond to the call of the Election Commission (EC).

He said, "We want to exchange views with everyone. Therefore, those who did not participate in the dialogue, if they wish, we will try to listen to them."

The CEC made these comments to the parties in the second phase of dialogue organized at the election building on Saturday. He said, "We have given the invitation with less time. Due to the speed, no group may participate. If they wish, we will try to listen to them by talking to the commission. Because we want to exchange views with everyone."

Kazi Habibul Awal said, "There are two months left for the election. We have to do some things quickly. This is to inform you about the preparations we have made regarding the election. Because the political parties are the main partners in the democratic governance system and the election."

The Election Commission organized this dialogue at the very end of the announcement of the schedule. 22 teams were expected to participate in the morning and 22 teams in the afternoon. But in the morning, 13 parties including Bangladesh Awami League participated. Nine teams did not come to EC. They are LDP, BJP, CPB, Kalyan Party, Jamiat Ulamae Islam, BML, Muslim League, Khilafat Majlish and Demokrati Party.

Other Election Commissioners, senior EC officials participated in the dialogue chaired by the CEC. Besides Jatiya Party-JP, Samyavadi Dal of Bangladesh (ML), Bangladesh Tariqat Federation, Workers Party of Bangladesh, Alternative Dhara Bangladesh, Jatiya Party (Japa), Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-JSAD, Zaker Party, Bangladesh National Awami Party (Bangladesh NAP), Bangladesh Leaders of Jatiya Party, Bangladesh Islamic Front, Bangladesh Cultural Liberation Alliance and Bangladesh Nationalist Movement participated.