China proposes to bankroll Chittagong metro rail in return for stake in 'smart city' Bangladesh-China
File photo Proposed Chittagong Metro rail project

China proposes to bankroll Chittagong metro rail in return for stake in 'smart city'

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 23 Feb 2022, 07:02 pm

Own Correspondent, Dhaka, February 23: China wants to build a metro rail in the port city of Chittagong at its own expense, in return the country wants a stake in the proposed "smart city".

The information was given at the 19th meeting of the Standing Committee on the Ministry of Housing and Public Works held at the Parliament House on Tuesday (February 22). After the meeting, the chairman of the committee, Engineer Mosharraf Hossain, said this to reporters.

He said, "China wants to build a metro rail in Chittagong city with its own funds. In return, China and Bangladesh will jointly build a smart city in an area of 60 square kilometers along the coast. The parliamentary committee has recommended to forward the Chinese proposal to the Prime Minister."

Mosharraf Hossain said the meeting recommended that after the recovery of commercial plots in Uttara owned by the Rajdhani Unnayan Kartripakkha-RAJUK (Capital Development Authority), a project be taken up for the construction of the building at its own expense. Besides, the ministry was recommended to take necessary steps for the construction of 25-storey buildings in the 'Ideal Zone' and 'Al Helal Zone' of the government colony in Motijheel.

He said the progress and future plans of ongoing projects of Public Works Department, RAJUK, National Housing Authority, Chittagong Development Authority, Cox's Bazar Development Authority, Rajshahi Development Authority, Khulna Development Authority, Urban Development Department, Department of Architecture, Housing and Building Research Institute were also discussed in the meeting.

The meeting was attended by members of the committee - Minister of State for Housing and Public Works Sharif Ahmed, Narayan Chandra Chand, Bazlul Haque Harun, Md. Monwar Hossain Chowdhury, Anwarul Ashraf Khan and Farida Khanam.