PM calls on public representatives to ensure future votes by serving people Sheikh Hasina
Photo: PID

PM calls on public representatives to ensure future votes by serving people

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 05 Apr 2024, 01:08 pm

Dhaka, April 5: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina urged the elected representatives to serve the people, saying that this would ensure their future votes.

She said, "You are elected by the people's vote. If you can ensure public service then you will not worry about votes in future. People will trust and believe in you."

The Prime Minister said this while addressing the swearing-in ceremony of the newly elected mayors of Comilla and Mymensingh city corporations and five district council chairmen and councilors of Mymensingh City Corporation at the Shapla Hall of her office in Tejgaon on Thursday.

Directing the local government representatives to work with utmost sincerity for public welfare, she said, "Don't lose the trust and confidence of the people in any way. So stand by them and work for people accordingly."

Pointing out that her government has developed every area of the country and these development activities are being carried out around the grassroots people, Sheikh Hasina called on the representatives to keep their promises to the people and continue the current trend of development.

She said, "The country has already improved a lot. As you can see for yourself. You have to keep the promise made to the people to maintain this change and make further progress."

Noting that her government's aim is to provide better services to the people, improve the quality of life and build a planned city, the Prime Minister said, "Adding that we have already announced 'Amar Gram, Amar Shahar' (My Village, My City). That means the people of the village will get all the civic benefits."

The Prime Minister administered the oath to Comilla City Corporation's first elected woman mayor Tahsin Bahar Suchna and Mymensingh City Corporation's elected mayor Ekramul Haque Titu. On the same occasion, the PM administered the oath to the newly elected chairmen of five Zilla Parishads - Kurigram, Thakurgaon, Sirajganj, Brahmanbaria and Habiganj.