President gives assent to formation of new cabinet New Cabinet
Collected President Shahabuddin

President gives assent to formation of new cabinet

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 10 Jan 2024, 11:54 pm

Own Correspondent, Dhaka, 10 January 2024: Awami League President Sheikh Hasina has been appointed Prime Minister for the fourth consecutive time and fifth time. President Md Sahabuddin decided to appoint him as Prime Minister. At the same time, he agreed to form a new cabinet under his leadership. A notification in this regard has been issued by the Cabinet Department on Wednesday.

It is said that the President has decided to appoint Sheikh Hasina, a member of parliament who is trusted by the majority of the members of the 12th National Parliament, as the Prime Minister and has consented to the formation of a new cabinet under her leadership in accordance with Clause (3) of Article 56 of the Constitution of the People's Republic of Bangladesh. As soon as the new Cabinet is formed, the existing Cabinet shall be deemed to have been dissolved.

Awami League president Sheikh Hasina went to Bangabhaban after Wednesday evening. Earlier in the morning, the newly elected members of parliament took oath. Sheikh Hasina was elected the leader of the parliament in the parliamentary party meeting held after the oath. Now the new cabinet will be formed. According to Article 56 of the Constitution, the Cabinet shall consist of a Prime Minister and such other Ministers, Ministers of State and Deputy Ministers as the Prime Minister may determine. Prime Minister and other Ministers, State Ministers and Deputy Ministers are appointed by the President.

Earlier, on January 7, the 12th National Assembly elections were held. Awami League won the election without BNP. Out of 299 constituencies, private results are available for 298 constituencies. Awami League won 222 of them. Bangladesh Workers Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-JASAD and Bangladesh Welfare Party won one seat each. Independent candidates won the most after the incumbents, with 62 seats. Most of the independent candidates are Awami League leaders. The main opposition party in the parliament, the Jatiya Party won 11 seats.