Sheikh Hasina-led new cabinet to be sworn in this evening Cabinet
File photo/Wallpaper Cave

Sheikh Hasina-led new cabinet to be sworn in this evening

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 11 Jan 2024, 12:50 pm

Dhaka, Jan 11: The ruling Awami League is going to form the government for the fourth consecutive time. The swearing-in ceremony of the new cabinet members will be held today (Thursday, January 11) at 7 pm at Bangabhaban.

In addition to the Prime Minister, the list of 36 members of the new cabinet has been released. Among them 25 ministers and 11 state ministers. Cabinet Secretary Md. Mahbub Hossain has shared this information. Awami League president and Bangabandhu's daughter Sheikh Hasina is going to be the Prime Minister for the fifth time (fourth consecutive term).

The voting for the 12th National Parliament election was held on January 7. Awami League won the election without BNP. Out of 299 constituencies, Awami League won 222 out of 298 constituencies declared. Apart from this, Jatiya Party won 11 seats and Bangladesh Workers Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-JSAD and Bangladesh Kalyan Party won one seat each. Independent candidates won 62 seats.

Newly elected MPs took oath on Wednesday morning. Sheikh Hasina was elected the leader of the parliament in the parliamentary party meeting held after the oath. Awami League president Sheikh Hasina went to Bangabhaban after Wednesday evening. There President Md. Shahabuddin decided to appoint her as Prime Minister. At the same time, the President agreed to form a new cabinet under the leadership of Sheikh Hasina.

In the evening, the President will first administer the Prime Minister's oath at Bangabhaban. After that, the President will administer the oath to the Ministers and Ministers of State. After the oath, the cabinet secretary said that a notification will be issued by allocating offices from the cabinet department.

If the new cabinet takes oath, they will be the new government of the country. The previous cabinet will remain in place until it is sworn in. Once the new cabinet is sworn in, the previous cabinet will automatically be dissolved.