Voting underway in Gazipur city polls Gazipur City Polls
Photo: Collected

Voting underway in Gazipur city polls

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 25 May 2023, 10:34 am

Dhaka, May 25: Voting is underway in Gazipur City Corporation election. Starting at 8 am, the polling will continue till 4 pm without interruption in Electronic Voting Machine (EVM).

It is reported that the City Corporation has 480 centres. 334 candidates are contesting in the election. Among them, eight candidates for the post of mayor, 246 candidates for the post of general councilor and 79 candidates for the post of reserved ward councilor. Out of this, 333 candidates will contest the election as one candidate was elected unopposed in the general ward. In the 57 wards of the city, the total number of voters in this election of this city is 11 lakh 79 thousand 463. Among them, there are 5 lakh 92 thousand 747 male voters, 5 lakh 86 thousand 698 female voters and 18 third gender (transgender) voters.

On the occasion of Gazipur City Corporation election, 480 polling stations and 3,497 polling booths have been set up in 57 wards. 120 centers from Dhirashram GK High School and College of Gazipur City, 115 centers from Chandana High School and School, 58 centers from Darus Salam Madrasa, 68 centers from Azim Uddin School and College and 119 centers from National University have been distributed. 46 types of materials including cloth, tissue paper, indelible ink, hand sanitizer, voter list, vaseline, velvet cloth, screwdriver, multiplug have been distributed for construction of EVM, booth room.

Those who are contesting for the post of mayor: Advocate Azmat Ullah Khan, President of Gazipur Metropolitan Awami League, is running for the post of mayor with the boat symbol on the nomination of Awami League. Former mayor Jahangir Alam's mother Zayeda Khatun is running as an independent candidate in the symbol of the table clock. MM Niaz Uddin is running on the plow symbol on the nomination of Jatiya Party. Sarkar Shahnoor Islam (Roni Sarkar) is running as an independent candidate in the elephant symbol. Md. Haroon-ur-Rashid is running as an independent candidate with the horse symbol, Gazi Ataur Rahman is running with the hand-held symbol for Islami Andolan Bangladesh, Md. Raju Ahmed Ershad is contesting with the rose flower symbol with the support of Zaker Party, and Atiqul Islam is the candidate of the Gano Front with the fish symbol.