Committee to list martyred intellectuals Martyred Intellectuals
File Picture Martyred Intellectual Memorial in Dhaka's Rayerbazar

Committee to list martyred intellectuals

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 23 Nov 2020, 06:57 pm

Dhaka, November 23: The government has formed a verification and selection committee with researchers, freedom fighters and officials of the Ministry of Liberation War Affairs to prepare a list of martyred intellectuals. A notification has been issued by the Ministry of Liberation War Affairs on November 19.

Secretary of the Ministry of Liberation War Affairs Tapan Kanti Ghosh has been made the chairman of this committee. Additional Secretary Md Shahidul Haque Bhuiyan was made a member and Deputy Secretary Rathindra Nath Dutt a member-secretary.

The research members of the committee include Dhaka University Professor Muntasir Mamun, Ghatak Dalal Nirmul Committee President Shahriar Kabir, Dhaka University Professor Mezbah Kamal, National Institute of Preventive and Social Medicine (NIPSOM) Director Dr. Bayazid Khurshid Riaz, Genocide-Torture Archive and Museum Trustee Dr. Chowdhury Shahid Quader and researcher Gazi Salauddin.

Among the members of are filmmaker and cultural personality Nasir Uddin Yusuf Bachchu, Muktijoddha and researcher Lieutenant Colonel (Retd.) Kazi Sajjad Zaheer (Bir Pratik).

The committee will work to verify the list of names of martyred intellectuals and give opinions including names of martyred intellectuals, father's name and address. The committee will determine the definition of who among the martyrs of the liberation war will be included as martyred intellectuals.

The committee will prepare a list of martyred intellectuals by checking and sorting the information obtained from various research books, magazine cutting, TV reports, other sources.

Besides, the committee will scrutinize the applications of persons or persons received from various ministries, departments, agencies, districts, upazilas and other sources and will recommend their inclusion in the list of martyred intellectuals.