Bangladesh make history by defeating Kiwis in T20 T20

Bangladesh make history by defeating Kiwis in T20

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 28 Dec 2023, 02:15 am

Sports Reporter, Dhaka, 28 December 2023: Bangladesh had previously won only one Test on New Zealand soil. There was no win in ODI or T20. In the previous match in Napier, Nazmul Hossain Shanto's team could taste their first win against the Kiwis in their ODI history.

Now that wait is over in T20 too. Bangladesh created history by defeating New Zealand by 5 wickets in the first T20I. The hosts are now unbeaten on Kiwi soil in any format. Tigers have tasted defeat in all three formats.

After losing the toss and going down to bat to chase the target of 135 runs thrown by New Zealand, the Tigers reached the target of victory with 8 balls in hand. Opener Liton Das remained unbeaten on 42 runs from 36 balls. Mehdi Hasan remained unbeaten with 19 runs from 16 balls in the last minute. Like the previous match in Napier, the Bangladeshi bowlers have shown their strength in this match. At the same time, the skipper Nazmul Hossain has shown his wisdom in deciding to send the Kiwis to bat after winning the toss.

After losing the toss, the Kiwis couldn't score more than 134 runs after losing 9 wickets. The score would have been much smaller had Jimmy Neesham not scored 48. Rony Talukder got out after making an opening pair of 13 runs after coming down to bat with a target of 135 runs. He scored 10 runs in 7 balls. Captain Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Liton Das with 25 runs partnership and got out for individual 19 runs. He played 14 balls. Soumya Sarkar tried to create a storm. He played an innings of 22 runs off 15 balls. But Ben Sears failed to understand the ball and got bowled.

Tawhid Hriday came out to bat and created some chances but was dismissed for 19 runs off 18 balls by Mitchell Santner. Afif Hossain could not stand on the field. He got out with 1 run off 6 balls. If wickets fall at regular intervals, the cricket fans of Bangladesh get worried. In the end, Liton Das and Sheikh Mehdi Hasan helped Bangladesh win.

Liton played an important role in the team with 42 runs from 36 balls. Mehdi Hasan scored 19 runs off 19 balls with 1 boundary and 1 six. He also won the man of the match award.