Bangladesh register first T20I series win against New Zealand New Zealand Series

Bangladesh register first T20I series win against New Zealand

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 09 Sep 2021, 07:39 pm

Dhaka, September 9: After a dominating series win against Australia in the recently concluded T20I bilateral series, hosts Bangladesh has done it again, this time humbling the former's trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand.

After chasing down a score of 94 runs, Mahmudullah Riyad's men have taken an unassailable 3-1 lead in the ongoin T20I series, on Wednesday in Mirpur's Shere Bangla National Stadium.

Unlike Australia, who did not show any sign of a fightback, New Zealand lost a close encounter in the second match and even skittled out Bangladesh for a low score in the third match to register a comfortable win.

But on Wednesday, the visitors won the toss and decided to bat first, thus getting bowled out for 93 runs- their second below 100 score in the series.

Bangladesh chased it down with six wickets left and five balls remaining.

For the home side, Nasum Ahmed and Mustafizur's 4 wickets each did the trick. Will Young (46) and skipper Tom Latham (21) managed to put runs on the board, while the others, barring Finn Allen (12), failed to score in double digits.

Mahedi Hasan and Saifuddin shared the remaining two wickets.

Chasing the target, Bangladesh lost Liton Das (6) early, and even though Mohammad Naim (29) kept on going from one end, Shakib Al Hasan (8) and Mushfiqur Rahim (0) fell.

The home captain, however, kept his nerves and steered the team to victory with an unbeaten innings of 43 runs.

Afif Hossain remained with him with an unbeaten six runs.

Nasum was adjudged the Man of the match.