Barishal beat Comilla to clinch maiden BPL title BPL
Photo: Collected

Barishal beat Comilla to clinch maiden BPL title

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 02 Mar 2024, 12:01 pm

Dhaka, March 2: Defeating four-time Bangladesh Premier League champion Comilla Victorians in the final match, Fortune Barishal has clinched their maiden BPL title.

In the final of BPL's 10th session, Fortune Barishal won the toss and decided to bowl first.

Batting first, Comilla Victorians scored 154 runs for the loss of six wickets in 20 overs.

Mahidul Islam Ankon scored the heighest for Comilla -- 38 off 35 balls. Barishal bowler James Fuller got two wickets, while Kyle Mayers, Md. Saifuddin and Obed McCoy got one wicket each.

Chasing 155, Barishal reached their target with six wickets and an over to spare to clinch their maiden BPL trophy.

Kyle Mayers scored the heighest (46 off 30) for Barishal while captain Tamim Iqbal scored 39 off 26 balls with three sixes and three boundaries.

Comilla bowlers Mustafizur Rahman and Moeen Ali got two wickets each.

The Barishal franchise previously played three finals in BPL – as Barisal Burners in 2012, as Barisal Bulls in 2015 and as Fortune Barishal in 2022 – but emerged fourth time lucky under the captaincy of Tamim Iqbal.

On the other hand, the Comilla franchise played four BPL finals earlier and won all the four matches, and they beat Barishal two times in the final earlier.