BCB announces central contract keeping Shakib in all three formats Bangladesh Cricket
File photo Shakib Al Hasan

BCB announces central contract keeping Shakib in all three formats

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 11 Mar 2022, 03:47 pm

Own Correspondent, Dhaka, March 11: The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the names of 21 cricketers under the central contract, keeping Shakib Al Hasan in all the three formats (Test, ODI and T20).

At Shakib's request, he has been rested from all forms of cricket till April 30. Although he does not want to play Tests, he has repeatedly expressed his desire in various ways. Before leaving for Dubai, Shakib recently said that he did not want to go to South Africa, where he made it clear that he wanted to focus more on white ball cricket, not Tests.

A total of 21 players have been included in the BCB central contract. This includes cricketers who will play in all three formats, Tests, ODIs and Tests only, and everyone who has a T20 contract only. These cricketers will be under the contract of BCB from last January to next December.

Besides Shakib, there are Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Taskin Ahmed and Shariful Islam in all three formats. Mahmudullah Riyadh, Tamim Iqbal, Mostafizur Rahman and Afif Hossain Dhrubo are in these two formats - ODI and T20. As T20 captain Mahmudullah has retired from Test cricket, he is not in the langar format.

ODI captain Tamim Iqbal is in Tests and ODIs, he has gone on a six-month break from the T20s. On the other hand, Test captain Mominul Haque is only in the Test format.

Mominul Haque, Taizul Islam, Nazmul Hossain Shant, Ebadat Hossain Chowdhury, Sadman Islam, Yasir Ali Chowdhury Rabbi, and Mahmudul Hasan Joy are in the Test contract only.

Nurul Hasan Sohan, Nasum Ahmed, Naeem Sheikh and Sheikh Mahedi Hasan have been included only in the T20 contract.

Mentioning the names separately in the contract made it clear that in which format a cricketer would be assigned to in the next one year. However, non-contract cricketers can also join the national team by their performance. Such as Soumya Sarkar, Rubel Hossain and many others who are practicing for Bangladesh Tigers. If they can do well, they can come to the national team.