BCB announces squad for ODI series against England ODI Series

BCB announces squad for ODI series against England

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 17 Feb 2023, 04:03 pm

Dhaka, February 17: The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the 14-member squad for the first 2 ODIs of the three-match series against England at home. The only new face in the Tigers' ODI squad is top-order batsman Towhid Hridoy. In the recently concluded BPL, Hridoy has caught the eye by performing brilliantly. As a result, he got a call to the ODI team.

Hridoy has scored 403 runs with five fifties in 13 matches of BPL this season. The average was around 37 and the strike rate was over 140. He finished third in the list of run scorers in BPL. The squad was 16 in the last ODI series. This time the team for the first 2 matches against England has been arranged with 14 people.

Meanwhile, five people have dropped out. They are wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan Sohan, pacer Shariful Islam, top order Enamul Haque Bijoy, left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed and middle order Yasir Ali Rabi.

Tamim Iqbal was not in the last series against India due to injury. He returned as the captain. Left-arm spinner Taijul Islam is back. The three-match ODI series against England will start from March 1. The English will also play a three-match T20 series in this tour.

The Bangladesh squad:

Tamim Iqbal (Captain), Litton Kumer Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mahmud Ullah, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Taijul Islam, Towhid Hridoy