BCB announces squad for upcoming T20 World Cup T20 WC Squad

BCB announces squad for upcoming T20 World Cup

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 09 Sep 2021, 08:14 pm

Dhaka, September 9: The Bangladesh Cricket Board has announced the 15 men squad for the upcoming T20 cricket World Cup. Apart from the 15 players, to be lead by skipper Mahmudullah Riyad, two players have been named as travelling reserves. 

Chief selector Minhazul Abedin Nannu announced the World Cup squad at a press conference at the Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium in Mirpur after 12 noon on Thursday. He was accompanied by two other selectors Habibul Bashar Sumon and Abdur Razzak.

There is no surprise in a team made up of a mix of experience and youth. The selectors have selected 15 players from the national team who have been playing T20I cricket for the last few months. Apart from Mahmudullah Riyad, Mushfiqur Rahim and Shakib Al Hasan are experienced players in the squad.

Besides, Mostafizur Rahman, Liton Kumar Das, Naeem Sheikh and Mohammad Saifuddin, who have become regular faces of the T20I team in recent times, are also in the World Cup squad. Chief selector Nannu expressed his confidence in the players.

The World Cup mission of Bangladesh team will start on October 17. The Tigers' first opponent in the first round is Scotland. The other two teams in Group B are hosts Oman and Papua New Guinea. Bangladesh will get Super-12 entry if they are among the top two teams in the first round in their group.

Bangladesh T20 World Cup squad: Mahmudullah (C), Shakib al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Das, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Naim, Nurul Hasan, Shamim Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Saifuddin, Shariful Islam, Taskin Ahmed.

Reserves: Aminul Islam and Rubel Hossain.