BCB announces team for New Zealand series Bangladesh Squad The victorious Bangladesh T20I team against Australia

BCB announces team for New Zealand series

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 20 Aug 2021, 10:48 am

Dhaka, August 20: The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced the team for the home series against New Zealand.

Top order batsman Mohammad Mithun has been left out, however, three players have made a comeback. Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das and Animul Islam Biplob has been added to the squad against the Blackcaps. The three has missed the recently concluded home series against Australia, due to personal reasons.

Mushfiq has returned home from Zimbabawe, leaving the team midway after his parents tested positive for the deadly Covid-19 disease. He could not play the Australia series as he failed to enter the bio-bubble within the stipulated time.

Liton too decided to be with his father-in-law who had gotten ill, thus missing the series against the Aussies.

Biplob had taken a break following his father's demise.

Mithun had last played an international T-20 match against the Blackcaps in New Zealand. In two matches, he had scores of four and one run. Following his poor run, he was not kept in the starting 11 against either Zimbabwe or Australia. However, Soumya Sarkar, who has had a horrid run against Australia, has been kept in the squad.

The Bangladesh squad: -

Mahmudullah Riyad (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Kumar Das, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Naim Sheikh, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shamim Hossain Patwari, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shoriful Islam, Taijul Islam, Sheikh Mehedy Hasan, Animul Islam Biplob and Nasum Ahmed.