BPL: Comilla Victorians lift trophy for second consecutive time BPL The winning team

BPL: Comilla Victorians lift trophy for second consecutive time

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 17 Feb 2023, 04:13 pm

Dhaka, February 17: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza's dashing Sylhet strikers finally sank into despair. Imrul Kayes' Comilla Victorians became BPL champions for the second time in a row after defeating them in the BPL final in Mirpur by 7 wickets and 4 balls in hand. This is Comilla's fourth title overall.

The final was worth it. Although Sylhet's margin of defeat was large, the match swung like a pendulum for a long time. Comilla's target was 176 runs. Up to 16 overs, both teams had equal chances of winning.

Comilla needed 52 runs off the last 24 balls. Captain Mashrafe gave the ball to Rubel Hossain. The match went to Comilla in that over. Johnson Charles and Moeen Ali combined for 23 runs in the over.

In the end, this pair brought out the match. Charles played a match-winning innings of 79 runs off 52 balls with 7 fours and 5 sixes. Moeen Ali remained unbeaten on 25 runs off 17 balls. In the run chase, Comilla was in danger after losing Sunil Narine (5 balls 10) and Imrul Kayes (2) with just 34 runs on the board. After that, Litton and Charles made 70 runs in 57 balls with Charles. Litton played an innings of 55 runs off 39 balls, which included 7 fours and a six.

Sylhet scored 175 runs for 7 wickets on the half-centuries of Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Mr. Dependable Mushfiqur Rahim.

Comilla captain Imrul Kayes won the toss and chose to field at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium. Towhid Hridoy (0) could not take advantage of batting. Mashrafe once again went own after the fall of the first wicket. But today, the Sylhet captain scored only 1 run in 4 balls.