Four new faces introduced as Shakib, Mushfiqur among six left out from T20I squad against Pakistan T20I Squad Bangladesh players practicing ahead of the T20I series against Pakistan

Four new faces introduced as Shakib, Mushfiqur among six left out from T20I squad against Pakistan

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 17 Nov 2021, 11:40 am

Dhaka, November 17: Following their catastrophic failure at the T20 World Cup, a massive change was expected. It was conceivable that a T20 squad would be formed with a predominance of youngsters in particular. The selectors of the Bangladesh national team have finally announced a 16-member squad for the three-match T20 series against Pakistan.

Four new faces have found a place in this team. Saif Hasan, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Shahidul Islam and Akbar Ali.

Saif Hasan has been in the ODI and Test teams before but this is the first time he has been named in the T20I squad. Yasir Ali Rabbi has been called up to the national team several times, but has not made his debut yet in any format. Shahidul Islam and Akbar Hossain are newcomers.

Experienced Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Rubel Hossain and Saifuddin have been dropped from the squad due to their failure in the World Cup.

With the hope of playing in the semi-finals of the World Cup, the Bangladesh team performed disastrously. The Tigers lost to Scotland in the first round (qualifying round). After winning against Oman and Papua New Guinea, they reached the Super Twelve, but the the brand of cricket thereafter, was disappointing and perhaps the weakest in the team's recent history.

Shakib Al Hasan could not play the last two matches of Super Twelve due to injury. At that time, however, no one was named as his replacement in place of Shakib. Although Shakib Al Hasan returned to the country after recovering, he has been left out from the T20I squad. Maybe, the world's best all-rounder will be included in the Test squad.

Irresponsible batting from Mushfiqur, Soumya and Liton Das has basically drowned Bangladesh in the World Cup. That is why these three were not included in the squad against Pakistan. Besides, Rubel Hossain got a place in the main squad due to Saifuddin's injury even though he was a reserve with the team in the World Cup. He was also dropped against Pakistan. Saifuddin is injured. He was also not included in the T20I squad this time.

Top order Nazmul Hossain Shant and leg-spinner Aminul Islam Biplob have been brought back to the team. Mostafizur Rahman will lead the pace department of the team. He is accompanied by Taskin Ahmed, Shariful Islam and Shahidul Islam.

Bangladesh Squad: Mahmudullah (captain), Naim Sheikh, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam Biplob, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Shamim Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Saif Hassan, Yasir Ali Chowdhury Rabbi, Shohidul Islam, Akbar Ali.