Mahmudullah out of Asia Cup team Asia Cup
Collected Mahmudullah Riyad

Mahmudullah out of Asia Cup team

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 13 Aug 2023, 12:02 am

Sports Reporter, Dhaka, 13 August 2023: After announcing the captain, the Bangladesh Cricket Board did not delay much in announcing the Asia Cup team. Today was the last date to announce the Asia Cup team. So, BCB had to announce the team by today anyway. But that announcement came this morning.

It was already expected that Mahmudullah Riyad and Soumya Sarkar will not get a chance in the Asia Cup team. The news about this was published in Jagonews a day ago. That assumption proved true. Excluding experienced and senior cricketer Mahmudullah Riyad and Soumya Sarkar, this year's Asia Cup team of 17 members has been announced.

Coach Chandika Hathurusinghe was more interested in keeping Soumya Sarkar in the team. Soumya was given ample opportunities to prove herself despite her off form. Also played in the Emerging Asia Cup. After that, he was also given a chance in the initial team for the conditioning camp. In the end, he couldn't prove himself anymore.

There is a surprise in this year's Asia Cup team. 22-year-old opener Tanjid Hasan Tamim has been called in this team. Tanjeed was awarded 3 fifties in 4 matches in the Emerging Asia Cup last month. Tanjid's runs were the highest in Bangladesh.

Spinner Nasum Ahmed and spin all-rounder Mehdi Hassan have returned to the team. Nasum played the last ODI for Bangladesh in the Ireland series last March. Mehdi Hasan last played for Bangladesh in the Asia Cup last year.

The omission of Mahmudullah Riyad means that his international career is almost over. After his elimination, only 2 remained among the five Pandavas. Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim. Mashrafe's international career ended in 2020.

Bangladesh squad in Asia Cup

Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Liton Das, Tanjid Hasan Tamim, Nazmul Hossain, Tawhid Hriday, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Taskin Ahmed, Mostafizur Rahman, Mehedi Hasan, Hasan Mahmud, Shamim Hossain, Afif Hossain, Shariful Islam, Ibadat Hossain , Mohammad Naeem and Nasum Ahmed.