New Zealand win Mirpur test, series 1-1 Bangladesh Vs New Zealand
Photo: Collected

New Zealand win Mirpur test, series 1-1

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 09 Dec 2023, 04:07 pm

Dhaka, Dec 9: New Zealand beat Bangladesh by 4 wickets in the Mirpur Test to drow the two-match Test series 1-1.

Bangladesh were bowled out for just 144 runs in the second innings on the fourth day on the spin-assisted pitch of the Sher-e-Bangla Stadium. New Zealand's left-arm spinner Ajaz Patel took six wickets, another spin bowler Mitchell Santner took three wickets and captain Tim Southee took one wicket. Opener Zakir Hassan (59) scored the highest run in the second innings for Bangladesh.

Chasing the target of 137 runs, the Kiwis fell under pressure after losing 6 wickets for just 69 runs. Mehidy Hasan Miraz took three wickets, Taijul Islam two and Shariful Islam one. Then Glenn Phillips entered the ground as the saviour of New Zealand. New Zealand won by 4 wickets based on his unbeaten innings of 40 runs. He was accompanied by Mitchell Santner (35).

After this win, New Zealand have drawn the two-match Test series 1-1 with Bangladesh. The Tigers defeated the Kiwis by 150 runs in the first match of the series in Sylhet.