Team for the first Test against India announced, Zakir replaces Tamim Test Team
Collected The Bangladesh Test team

Team for the first Test against India announced, Zakir replaces Tamim

Bangladesh Live News | @banglalivenews | 09 Dec 2022, 11:55 pm

Dhaka, December 9:There is one match left in the ODI series. The third and last ODI of the series will be played at Zahoor Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Saturday. Then the first test started in Chittagong from 14 December. Bangladesh has announced a 17-member team ahead of this Test. Wicket keeper batsman Zakir Hasan has made a place as a new face in the team. The out-of-form Muminul Haque has also retained his place in the Test team.

Tamim Iqbal will miss the Test series as well as the ODI. The team has been named without Tamim, who was ruled out of the ODI series at the last minute due to a groin injury, for the first Test.

Zakir, who got a place as a new face, had earlier played a T20I for the national team against Sri Lanka in Sher Bengal, Dhaka on 15 February 2018. However, he has never been called up to the ODI or Test team before.

Zakir is the highest run-scorer in this year's National League, performing almost consistently well in domestic cricket. Zakir, a regular member of the Bangladesh 'A' team, has played well in this year's BCL as well.

However, in the current Test series against the Indian 'A' team, he caught the eye. A brilliant innings of 173 runs came out of his willows in the first unofficial four-day Test.

Besides, rising pacer Rezaur Rahman Raja of Sylhet has also been considered for the Test team. Raja was in the squad for the last Test series against Pakistan despite not having played a match for the national team before.

Bangladesh Squad for First Test:

Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Liton Das, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehdi Hasan Miraj, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadat Hossain, Shariful Islam, Zakir Hasan, Rezaur Rahman Raja, Enamul Haque Bijoy.