All Bangladesh

More sanction is their wish: Hasina

Ugly fight breaks during Celebrity Cricket League, injured stars rushed to hospital

European Union may ban Bangladesh: Planning Minister

PM's leadership in women empowerment appreciated at IMO

Maximum police force deployed at US Embassy: Home Minister

24th session of Parliament ends, 18 bills were passed in eight days

Dhaka, Sept 15: The 24th session of the 11th National Parliament ended after nine consecutive working days. On Thursday (September 14) at 8:40 PM, Deputy Speaker Shamsul Haque Tuku announced the end of the session on the order of the President.

Cyber security law passed with provision for warrantless arrest

Dhaka, Sept 14: Jatiya Sangsad passed 'Cyber Security Bill 2023' with provisions for arrest without warrant, maximum penalty of crores of Tk 1 crore fine and 14 years imprisonment. State Minister for Information and Communication Technology Zunaid Ahmed Palak proposed the bill for passage in the National Parliament session on Wednesday and it was passed by voice vote.

Land Crime Prevention and Remedy Bill, 2023 passed in JS

Dhaka, Sept 13: The 'Land Crime Prevention and Remedy Bill-2023' has been passed with provision of maximum seven years imprisonment and fine for keeping other's land in one's possession, making fake or false documents and transferring documents mentioning any part of land outside of one's own ownership.

Bill placed in JS to take NID from EC under Home Ministry

Dhaka, Sept 5: A bill has been introduced in Parliament to take National Identity (NID) registration from the Election Commission (EC) under the Ministry of Home Affairs.

24th session of Parliament to begin on Sept 3

Dhaka, August 17: The 24th session of the 11th National Parliament will begin on Sunday, September 3. The 24th session of the 11th National Parliament and the fourth session of 2023 will begin at 5 pm on that day.

Two newly-elected MPs take oath

Dhaka, August 7: National Parliament Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury administered oath to MP Sajjadul Hasan elected in the 160 Netrakona-4 seat by-election and Md. Mohiuddin Bachchu, elected in the 287 Chittagong-10 seat by-election, in the oath room of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad on Sunday.

Parliament's special session ends

Dhaka, April 11: The special session of the National Parliament has ended. Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury announced the end of the 22nd session of the current Parliament by reading the announcement of President Md. Abdul Hamid regarding the end of the session on Monday. This session was called on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the National Parliament.

Govt getting power to ban strikes in hospitals and transport

Dhaka, April 7: The government can ban strikes in essential services like hospitals and transport if deemed necessary in the public interest. A bill in this regard was raised in the national parliament on Thursday (April 6). The government is going to make a new law by repealing the Essential Services (Maintenance) Act of 1958 and the Essential Services (Second) Ordinance of 1958.

Special session of Parliament to begin on April 6

Dhaka, March 22: On the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the National Parliament, the special session will begin on April 6. The National Parliament will sit in a special session at 11 am on that day. On Tuesday, March 21, President Md. Abdul Hamid convened this session under the powers given in Clause (1) of Article 72 of the Constitution.

President exchanges greetings with journalists working in Parliament

Dhaka, Jan 6: President Md. Abdul Hamid greeted and exchanged views with the journalists working in the National Parliament. On Thursday (January 5), he exchanged views in the press lounge of the National Parliament. It was his last visit to Parliament as President.

Crossing a critical juncture in national life: President in Parliament

Dhaka, Jan 6: President Md. Abdul Hamid said, we are crossing an important juncture in national life. 2022 was a challenging year for us. The whole world is going through this difficult time.

21st session of Parliament sitting today

Dhaka, Jan 5: The 21st session of the 11th National Parliament and the first session of the year begins today Thursday (January 5).

BNP MPs tender resignations to Speaker

Dhaka, December 12: BNP MPs have submitted their resignations to the Speaker of the National Assembly Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury.

Leader of Opposition row: JP goes to Parliament after getting assurance from speaker

Own Correspondent, Dhaka, Nov 1: The Jatiya Party had decided not to attend the session until the gazette was published declaring its Chairman and Deputy Leader of Opposition Ghulam Muhammed Quader as Leader of the Opposition. However, party chairman GM Quader said that they have come back from the decision after the assurance of the Speaker of the National Assembly, Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury. In a directive on Monday, he directed all the members of parliament of the party to attend the session.

Proposal in Parliament to show strong hatred for Bangabandhu's murderers

Own Correspondent, Dhaka, Sept 1: The Jatiya Sangsad (National Parliament) wants to take an oath to thwart all attempts by expressing the opinion that the conspirators of August 15, 1975 are still carrying out their dastardly activities.